Last updated August 24, 2026

Best Everest expedition operators: 2026 company comparison
Compare price, route side, guide model, climbing-Sherpa support, oxygen, duration, prerequisites and best fit. Missing public information is labeled rather than estimated.
Global Summit Guide: Everest Operator Comparison Methodology
Best balanced hybrid: IMG. Best published guide structure: Adventure Consultants. Best boutique Western-led team: Madison Mountaineering. Best rapid-ascent redundancy: Furtenbach. Best North Side rapid ascent: Alpenglow. Best customizable ladder: CTSS. Best current Sherpa-led evidence: Imagine Nepal.
Do not compare companies by price alone. Compare the named leader, team size, Western-guide coverage, personal-Sherpa support, oxygen allocation, prerequisites, weather service, turnaround plan and cancellation contract. This page is part of the mountaineering operators directory.
Everest expedition operator comparison table
Scroll horizontally on mobile. “Not publicly specified” is a research finding, not an invitation to guess.
| Operator and model | Route side | Current published price | Western-guide structure | Sherpa support | Oxygen | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Mountain Guides (IMG)Classic Sherpa-guided or Hybrid Western-led | Nepal South Col | Official page: inquire; GSG profile lists $54K Classic and about $75K-$85K Hybrid | Classic: no dedicated Western lead stated; Hybrid: Western-led | Personal climbing Sherpa model | Supplemental oxygen included; exact allocation should be confirmed | First-time Everest climbers wanting a hybrid model and established US administration |
| Adventure ConsultantsSmall-team international guided expedition | Nepal South Col | Inquire for current price | Published 1:4 international-guide ratio; maximum team of 8 | Published 1:1 Sherpa-to-climber ratio on summit day | High-flow oxygen from Camp 2 during the summit push | Climbers prioritizing published ratios, small teams and strict prerequisites |
| Madison MountaineeringBoutique Western-led expedition | Nepal South Col | Next published standard program: $79,500; Everest-Lhotse: $98,975 | Western expedition leadership; exact client-to-guide ratio not published on the page reviewed | Climbing Sherpa support; summit bonus listed separately | Supplemental oxygen included; exact allocation should be confirmed | Climbers wanting direct access to senior leadership and a boutique team |
| Furtenbach AdventuresClassic, Flash and private Signature expeditions | Nepal South or Tibet North | 2026: €77,400 Classic; €105,900 Flash; €199,000 Signature | Western lead guide published for Flash; private Signature support available | Flash publishes a minimum 2:1 Sherpa-to-client ratio | Unlimited oxygen claim plus a complete spare system per client on Flash | Time-constrained climbers prepared for hypoxic pre-acclimatization |
| Alpenglow ExpeditionsNorth Side Rapid Ascent | Tibet North Ridge | $110,000 per person on the current published program | Professional Western guide team; exact ratio should be confirmed | Experienced Sherpa support; exact summit-day ratio not published in the result reviewed | Supplemental oxygen included; exact bottles and flow should be confirmed | Time-constrained climbers who prefer the North Side and Rapid Ascent model |
| Climbing the Seven Summits (CTSS)Tiered team, Sherpa-guided, private and logistics programs | Nepal South Col | 2026 programs from about $59,995 to $134,995; Formula by request | Options range from no dedicated Western guide to private 1:1 international guide | Personal Sherpa on summit day; private 1:1 Sherpa-guided option available | Included by program; exact allocation varies by tier | Climbers who want to select a precise support and autonomy tier |
| Seven Summit TreksLarge Nepali operator with Classic, Premium, Elite and VIP tiers | Nepal South Col; other regional options vary | Inquire; price varies greatly by tier | Varies from Sherpa-led to UIAGM-supported premium tiers | Tier-dependent; premium documents publish multiple personal Sherpa options | Tier-dependent; verify bottles, flow and backup | Experienced climbers seeking deep Nepali logistics and multiple price tiers |
| Imagine NepalSherpa-led Nepali expedition company | Nepal South Col and advertised North Face program | Inquire | Sherpa-led model; Western-guide coverage not publicly specified | Personal Sherpa teams documented in 2026 summit updates | Not publicly normalized; confirm allocation in writing | Experienced climbers wanting elite Sherpa leadership and current route-fixing depth |
| 8K ExpeditionsNepali standard-service and premium expedition operator | Nepal South Col | Inquire | Program-dependent; not publicly normalized on the page reviewed | Sherpa-led support; exact summit-day ratio should be confirmed | Program-dependent; exact allocation should be confirmed | Experienced clients seeking a Nepali operator with current 2026 expedition activity |
| 14 Peaks ExpeditionNepali standard and VIP expedition services | Nepal South Col | Inquire for current Everest price | VIP page emphasizes private expedition staff; Western-guide coverage should be confirmed | VIP publishes dedicated 1:1 climbing Sherpa support | VIP publishes unlimited oxygen and emergency backup systems | Climbers wanting a Nepali-led private or luxury program |
Higher prices can fund smaller teams, more oxygen, Western guides, medical staff and private logistics, but the company must document what the premium buys. Lower price does not prove poor safety, and luxury does not replace experience or judgment.
Best Everest companies by client type
These verdicts are based on published program features, not paid placement or unsupported universal rankings.
Understand the Everest expedition models
The same company may sell more than one model, so compare the exact program rather than the brand alone.
Sherpa-led
Nepali leadership, personal climbing Sherpas and local logistics. Usually lower-priced and best for clients comfortable with greater independence.
Hybrid
Personal Sherpa support plus Western or international leadership. Often the middle ground for a first Everest attempt.
Western-guided team
International guides share high-altitude decisions and may climb with the group. Verify the actual ratio and where the guide is positioned.
Rapid ascent
Home hypoxic pre-acclimatization reduces time on the mountain. It demands strict preparation and a clear fallback if acclimatization is incomplete.
Private 1:1
A dedicated Western or Sherpa guide, increased autonomy and higher cost. Confirm whether “private” applies above the South Col.
Luxury or VIP
Private camps, upgraded food, helicopters and hospitality. Comfort can improve recovery but does not reduce the mountain’s objective hazards.
The 10 Everest operators in detail
Each card distinguishes published facts from the questions that remain unanswered online.
International Mountain Guides (IMG)
IMG offers a Classic program centered on a personal climbing Sherpa and a Hybrid program with added Western leadership. Its official 2026 page requires direct inquiry for price and team details, so the final guide ratio, oxygen allocation and scheduled leaders should be obtained in writing.
Traditional spring expedition
Western-guide structureClassic: no dedicated Western lead stated; Hybrid: Western-led
Sherpa supportPersonal climbing Sherpa model
OxygenSupplemental oxygen included; exact allocation should be confirmed
PrerequisitesExperienced high-altitude climbers; screening details should be confirmed directly
Best forFirst-time Everest climbers wanting a hybrid model and established US administration
- Long-running Everest South Side program
- Classic and Hybrid service levels
- Personal climbing Sherpa model
- US-based pre-expedition administration
Adventure Consultants
Adventure Consultants publishes the clearest normalized support data in this comparison: a maximum team of eight, a 1:4 international-guide ratio, 1:1 summit-day Sherpa support, high-flow oxygen and an expedition Base Camp doctor.
Traditional or 30-day Fast Track
Western-guide structurePublished 1:4 international-guide ratio; maximum team of 8
Sherpa supportPublished 1:1 Sherpa-to-climber ratio on summit day
OxygenHigh-flow oxygen from Camp 2 during the summit push
PrerequisitesSeveral 6,000-7,000 m climbs; an 8,000 m ascent strongly recommended
Best forClimbers prioritizing published ratios, small teams and strict prerequisites
- Maximum team size of eight
- 1:4 international-guide ratio
- 1:1 Sherpa support on summit day
- Base Camp doctor and high-flow oxygen
Madison Mountaineering
Madison Mountaineering publishes a $79,500 next-available standard Everest program and a $98,975 Everest-Lhotse combination. The program includes a long contingency window, while the summit bonus for each climbing Sherpa is listed as an additional client expense.
About 43 scheduled days plus contingency
Western-guide structureWestern expedition leadership; exact client-to-guide ratio not published on the page reviewed
Sherpa supportClimbing Sherpa support; summit bonus listed separately
OxygenSupplemental oxygen included; exact allocation should be confirmed
PrerequisitesStrong high-altitude and technical experience expected; confirm screening standard
Best forClimbers wanting direct access to senior leadership and a boutique team
- Owner-led boutique positioning
- Published next-program price
- Everest-Lhotse combination option
- Large contingency window
Furtenbach Adventures
Furtenbach publishes the broadest current price ladder: Classic, three-week Flash and private Signature programs on both sides of Everest. Its Flash page states a minimum two-Sherpa-per-client allocation, unlimited oxygen and a complete spare oxygen system for each member.
Classic about 6 weeks; Flash 21 days
Western-guide structureWestern lead guide published for Flash; private Signature support available
Sherpa supportFlash publishes a minimum 2:1 Sherpa-to-client ratio
OxygenUnlimited oxygen claim plus a complete spare system per client on Flash
PrerequisitesPersonal consultation and extensive high-altitude experience
Best forTime-constrained climbers prepared for hypoxic pre-acclimatization
- Published 2026 prices for six program variations
- South and North side choices
- Three-week Flash format
- 2:1 Sherpa ratio and spare oxygen system on Flash
Alpenglow Expeditions
Alpenglow's current Everest product is a 36-day, $110,000 North Side Rapid Ascent expedition. The model depends on structured hypoxic pre-acclimatization before arrival and avoids repeated passage through the Khumbu Icefall.
36 days
Western-guide structureProfessional Western guide team; exact ratio should be confirmed
Sherpa supportExperienced Sherpa support; exact summit-day ratio not published in the result reviewed
OxygenSupplemental oxygen included; exact bottles and flow should be confirmed
PrerequisitesAdvanced climbers with prior major high-altitude experience
Best forTime-constrained climbers who prefer the North Side and Rapid Ascent model
- North Ridge rather than South Col
- 36-day Rapid Ascent format
- Published $110,000 price
- Long-running hypoxic pre-acclimatization system
Climbing the Seven Summits (CTSS)
CTSS publishes the clearest menu of Everest service levels, from experienced-climber logistics and IFMGA Sherpa teams to team-guided and private international-guided climbs. The support level changes substantially by price, so the exact program name matters more than the company name alone.
About 56-58 days for full summit programs
Western-guide structureOptions range from no dedicated Western guide to private 1:1 international guide
Sherpa supportPersonal Sherpa on summit day; private 1:1 Sherpa-guided option available
OxygenIncluded by program; exact allocation varies by tier
PrerequisitesNo beginners; higher-autonomy tiers require extensive 7,000-8,000 m experience
Best forClimbers who want to select a precise support and autonomy tier
- Multiple clearly differentiated service tiers
- 2026 price and duration guide
- Private international and private Sherpa options
- Partial Everest training climbs also available
Seven Summit Treks
Seven Summit Treks operates one of the largest Everest platforms and publishes several product levels rather than a single expedition. The next Classic listing shows a 53-day, 15-person format, while Premium, Elite, Signature and Ultimate tiers add progressively more staff, oxygen and private services.
Next published Classic program: 53 days
Western-guide structureVaries from Sherpa-led to UIAGM-supported premium tiers
Sherpa supportTier-dependent; premium documents publish multiple personal Sherpa options
OxygenTier-dependent; verify bottles, flow and backup
PrerequisitesProgram-dependent screening; experienced climbers should request written prerequisites
Best forExperienced climbers seeking deep Nepali logistics and multiple price tiers
- Large Nepali high-altitude logistics platform
- Multiple Everest service tiers
- Classic and VIP products
- Everest-Lhotse combination options
Imagine Nepal
Imagine Nepal published detailed 2026 Everest summit updates, including named clients, personal Sherpas and route-fixing Sherpas. The company reported 63 total Everest summits across its 2026 teams, an operator-reported total that should not be converted into a client success percentage without the full denominator.
Traditional expedition; current price not published in the source reviewed
Western-guide structureSherpa-led model; Western-guide coverage not publicly specified
Sherpa supportPersonal Sherpa teams documented in 2026 summit updates
OxygenNot publicly normalized; confirm allocation in writing
PrerequisitesHigh-altitude experience expected; written standard should be requested
Best forExperienced climbers wanting elite Sherpa leadership and current route-fixing depth
- Named 2026 summit and Sherpa records
- Sherpa-led high-altitude leadership
- South Col and advertised North Face programs
- Direct operational involvement in 2026 route work
8K Expeditions
8K Expeditions maintains a current Everest program and published 2026 summit updates. Its website offers standard service and broader 8,000-metre logistics, but the price, ratios and oxygen details were not presented in a normalized public format during this review.
Traditional spring expedition
Western-guide structureProgram-dependent; not publicly normalized on the page reviewed
Sherpa supportSherpa-led support; exact summit-day ratio should be confirmed
OxygenProgram-dependent; exact allocation should be confirmed
PrerequisitesExperienced high-altitude climbers; written screening details should be requested
Best forExperienced clients seeking a Nepali operator with current 2026 expedition activity
- Active 2026 Everest expedition
- Nepal-based 8,000-metre logistics
- Standard-service booking pathway
- Current summit updates
14 Peaks Expedition
14 Peaks Expedition publishes a detailed VIP Everest specification with 1:1 climbing Sherpa support, unlimited oxygen, a Base Camp doctor, premium camp facilities and helicopter logistics. The price is quote-only and the service claims should be tied to the exact written contract.
Traditional or VIP format
Western-guide structureVIP page emphasizes private expedition staff; Western-guide coverage should be confirmed
Sherpa supportVIP publishes dedicated 1:1 climbing Sherpa support
OxygenVIP publishes unlimited oxygen and emergency backup systems
PrerequisitesSuccessful 6,000 or 7,000 m experience required for VIP
Best forClimbers wanting a Nepali-led private or luxury program
- Published 1:1 Sherpa support on VIP
- Unlimited oxygen claim
- Dedicated high-altitude doctor and medical facility
- Luxury private Base Camp services
Compare oxygen, guide ratios and summit support
These are the most important missing fields on many operator pages.
Oxygen and staffing questions
- Bottles: How many bottles are allocated to each client, and how many are held in reserve?
- Flow: What litres-per-minute plan is used for sleeping, climbing and summit day?
- Start point: Does oxygen begin at Camp 2, Camp 3 or later?
- Hardware: Which mask and regulator system is used, and who carries the backup?
- Personal Sherpa: Is the Sherpa dedicated for the full expedition, summit rotation or summit day only?
- Western guide: Is the guide climbing with the team, managing from Base Camp or shared among several groups?
- Separation: If one climber turns around, who descends and what support remains with the others?
- Summit bonus: Is the climbing-Sherpa bonus included, required or paid separately?
Compare Everest prerequisites
A company willing to take a client is not proof that the client is ready.
| Screening level | What it should include | Who it may suit | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Strict published standard | Named 6,000-8,000 m climbs, fixed-line competence, crampons, glacier travel and recent expedition history. | Climbers seeking conservative entry requirements. | Standards waived without a documented progression plan. |
| Resume review | Operator evaluates technical and altitude history through calls and references. | Experienced climbers with non-standard backgrounds. | No written acceptance criteria or no reference checks. |
| Program-tier screening | Lower-support tiers require substantially more autonomy and prior 8,000 m experience. | Experienced clients choosing CTSS or Nepali logistics options. | Marketing the same readiness standard across every tier. |
| Minimal public detail | Requirements supplied only after inquiry. | Potentially appropriate, but due diligence is essential. | Deposit accepted before a technical and altitude review. |
Contracts, closures and financial exposure
Everest deposits can be larger than the full cost of many expeditions. The contract deserves the same scrutiny as the guide team.
Contract comparison fields
- Deposit: Amount due and whether the permit portion is immediately non-refundable.
- Balance: Payment dates and penalties after the balance deadline.
- Government closure: Refund, credit or force-majeure treatment if Nepal or China closes access.
- Route failure: What happens if the Icefall, fixed ropes or border access are not established?
- Client illness: Refund and transfer options before and after arrival.
- Operator cancellation: What is returned if minimum numbers are not met?
- Delay costs: Helicopters, extra hotels, oxygen, additional Sherpa days and flight changes.
- Lhotse add-on: Conditions, extra oxygen and whether the second summit is refundable if Everest takes too long.
How to verify operator claims
Everest marketing commonly uses success percentages, summit totals and safety language that are not directly comparable.
| Claim | What to request | What not to assume |
|---|---|---|
| “90% success rate” | Paying clients, start count, summit count, years, route and true-summit definition. | That guides and Sherpas were excluded or every client was counted. |
| “1:1 support” | Whether the ratio applies all season, on rotations or summit day only. | That the personal Sherpa never supports another client. |
| “Unlimited oxygen” | Bottles, flow rate, reserve system and equipment-failure plan. | That oxygen can be used without operational limits. |
| “Western-guided” | Named guide, ratio, altitude role and whether the guide plans to summit. | That an international guide is beside every client. |
| “Safest operator” | Incident history, denominator, medical systems and decision protocols. | That a superlative is independently audited. |
Send every operator the same questionnaire
Ask for price, inclusions, team size, named leaders, guide ratio, personal-Sherpa scope, oxygen, weather service, doctor, prerequisites, rescue plan, cancellation terms and three recent client references.
Open the operator-selection guide Browse all operator comparisonsEverest expedition operator FAQ
Commercial questions climbers ask while comparing guide companies.
Who is the best Everest expedition operator?
There is no universal winner. Adventure Consultants publishes the clearest small-team guide structure. IMG offers a balanced Classic and Hybrid model. Madison Mountaineering suits climbers wanting boutique Western leadership. Furtenbach and Alpenglow specialize in rapid ascent. CTSS offers the widest support ladder. Imagine Nepal, Seven Summit Treks, 8K and 14 Peaks provide Nepali-led options for experienced clients.
How much does an Everest expedition cost?
Current published and quoted programs range from roughly the mid-$50,000s for streamlined or Sherpa-led options to more than $100,000 for private Western-guided or rapid-ascent programs. Furtenbach publishes €77,400 Classic, €105,900 Flash and €199,000 Signature options. CTSS publishes several tiers from about $59,995 to $134,995, while Madison lists $79,500 for its next standard program.
What is the difference between Western-guided and Sherpa-led Everest expeditions?
A Western-guided expedition generally includes an international lead guide who participates in team decisions and may climb high with clients. A Sherpa-led expedition relies primarily on Nepali leadership and personal climbing Sherpas. The labels alone do not establish quality; compare the named leaders, summit-day coverage, autonomy and turnaround authority.
Which Everest operators provide one-to-one Sherpa support?
Adventure Consultants publishes a 1:1 Sherpa-to-climber ratio on summit day. CTSS offers personal and private 1:1 Sherpa-guided programs. Madison, IMG and several Nepali premium programs use personal climbing Sherpas, but the timing and scope should be confirmed. Furtenbach Flash publishes at least two Sherpas per client.
How much oxygen should an Everest operator provide?
There is no useful universal number without the planned flow rate, start point and backup strategy. Ask for bottles per client, regulator and mask model, planned litres per minute, when oxygen begins, who carries the reserve, the replacement plan after equipment failure and the cost of additional bottles.
Which companies offer rapid-ascent Everest expeditions?
Furtenbach publishes 21-day South and North Flash programs using hypoxic pre-acclimatization. Alpenglow publishes a 36-day North Side Rapid Ascent. Adventure Consultants offers a 30-day Fast Track program. Climbers should treat home hypoxic preparation as a major medical and compliance commitment rather than a shortcut.
Which operators climb Everest from Tibet?
Alpenglow currently centers its Everest product on the North Ridge. Furtenbach publishes North Classic, North Flash and North Signature programs. Imagine Nepal advertises a North Face program. China access can change, so require a written contingency and refund policy.
What experience do Everest operators require?
Requirements vary. Adventure Consultants recommends several 6,000-7,000 m climbs and strongly recommends an 8,000 m ascent. Elite and premium programs commonly expect extensive fixed-line, crampon, glacier and high-altitude experience. CTSS states that it does not accept beginners. Ask for a written prerequisite decision rather than a marketing summary.
How can I verify an Everest operator's summit-success rate?
Request the number of paying clients, the number who began the expedition, the number who attempted the summit, the number reaching the true summit, route side, years covered and whether guides or Sherpas are included. A company total such as 63 team summits cannot be converted into a client percentage without the denominator.
What happens to my deposit if Everest closes or access changes?
Policies vary widely. Ask whether government closure, China access, permit delay, route failure, weather, illness and operator cancellation are handled as refunds, credits or non-refundable force majeure. Obtain the complete schedule of deposit, balance and cancellation dates before paying.
How this Everest comparison was built
Current operator documents are separated from editorial inference and unverified marketing claims.
Research methodology
Verification date. Program pages and prices were reviewed on August 2, 2026. Because the 2026 spring season has ended, some companies now display their next available 2027 program.
Price policy. Current published prices are shown in the operator’s original currency. Quote-only programs remain labeled “inquire.” Historic or third-party estimates are not presented as official prices.
Success claims. Summit totals are described as operator-reported. A percentage is not calculated without client counts and a clear summit definition.
Safety claims. The page compares documented systems such as guide ratios, oxygen redundancy and medical staff. It does not declare a universally safest company.
First-hand limits. Global Summit Guide has not contracted an Everest operator. The page is independent research, not a personal review of these companies.
No paid rankings. Operators cannot buy inclusion, a category verdict or placement.
Official operator sources reviewed
- International Mountain Guides (IMG) official program or current expedition source.
- Adventure Consultants official program or current expedition source.
- Madison Mountaineering official program or current expedition source.
- Furtenbach Adventures official program or current expedition source.
- Alpenglow Expeditions official program or current expedition source.
- Climbing the Seven Summits (CTSS) official program or current expedition source.
- Seven Summit Treks official program or current expedition source.
- Imagine Nepal official program or current expedition source.
- 8K Expeditions official program or current expedition source.
- 14 Peaks Expedition official program or current expedition source.
- Current Nepal mountain permit fee table.
- ExpedReview 2026 market-price analysis.
Shortlist the support model before the company
Choose Sherpa-led, hybrid, Western-guided, rapid-ascent or private support first. Then compare only programs that provide the same level of guide coverage, oxygen and autonomy.
Return to the comparison table Use the full evaluation frameworkWas this helpful?
🏔Related operators
🧭Explore & compare
Global Summit Guide is an independent mountaineering resource founded in 2026. The team combines first-hand trekking and climbing experience with in-depth research and professional health and nutrition review to help climbers choose objectives, prepare properly, and stay safe.
Health, altitude, and nutrition content is reviewed by Taylor Ludlow (Registered Nurse) and Brigg Hoopes (Nutritionist).
What We Don't Know Yet
Mountain information changes quickly. This box explains the limits of what this page can responsibly promise.
- Guide-company prices, departure dates, guide ratios, included services, and cancellation rules can change without notice.
- Route conditions, trailhead access, crevasse exposure, stream crossings, and rescue access may vary from published planning guidance.
- Total trip cost can change with flights, lodging, guide pricing, permits, gear rentals, transportation, and exchange rates.
- Fitness and altitude response vary by person; no guide, itinerary, or training plan can guarantee acclimatization or summit success.
- Comparisons simplify complex decisions; the better mountain depends on current conditions, skills, timing, budget, and risk tolerance.
Verify current conditions with official land managers, guide services, local forecasts, and current route reports before booking or climbing.
Mountaineering, rock and ice climbing, glacier travel, and high-altitude activity are inherently dangerous and can result in serious injury or death. The information on Global Summit Guide is provided for general informational and educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional instruction, qualified guiding, proper equipment, or your own judgment and experience.
Route conditions, weather, snowpack, permits, regulations, and hazards change constantly and may differ from what is described here. Details may be incomplete, out of date, or contain errors. Always verify current information with local authorities, certified guides, and official sources before making any decision in the mountains.
Nothing on this site is medical, legal, or financial advice. Our fitness, acclimatization, altitude, and nutrition content is general in nature; consult a qualified physician before beginning any strenuous exercise program or exposing yourself to high altitude.
You are solely responsible for your own safety and decisions. To the fullest extent permitted by law, Global Summit Guide and its team accept no liability for any loss, injury, damage, or expense arising from use of, or reliance on, this information. By using this site you acknowledge these risks and accept these terms.
Some links on this site may be affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you; this never affects our recommendations.
Global Summit Guide recommendation path
Next Best Mountain to Research
Use these recommendations to continue the right planning path instead of stopping on one page.
Use current permit, weather, route, and operator information before booking or climbing.
